The History of the Mansion
The historic Hainesburg Mansion nestled in the Hainesburg valley was built in 1828 by architect Andrew Smith. In its backyard are the remnants of the former Delaware, Lackawanna, and Western Railroad lines which ran alongside the Paulinskill River and feeds into the Delaware River. It was sold to railroad tycoon Jacob M. Blair around 1843 and then acquired by Jacob Andress in 1885. Andress and his family made the mansion their home for many years. Since then, it has changed ownership many times, establishing itself as an inn, a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, even a speakeasy at one point in history. In 2008, Dr. Jon Bertoldo acquired the Mansion in an attempt to maintain its Victorian charm and make it a veterinary practice unlike any other. It is more than just a veterinary practice, it feels like home.